Vayl, Disciple of Everblight

Since I got back from my end-of-year holidays I’ve been churning through my backlog of miniatures. Over a 4-day period I painted up Absylonia, a Scythean, the Black 13th, Sylys and … Vayl.

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight

After spending some time painting up a couple of trollblood models I liked, it was somewhat refreshing to come back to the faction I started in the last journeyman. During that league I played Thagrosh2 as much as possible and absolutely love Shredder-spam under Manifest Destiny. So far, I really like the faction and it really helps that I have a simple scheme that is quick and easy to paint.

Everything about this model’s paint scheme I am happy with. I used a much finer brush that I usually would on the face, and it is one of my better attempts. I chose to make her blue-er than the other Legion skintones I’ve painted due to seeing her as colder and somewhat more regal than the other models. As a contrast, I painted Absylonia a much darker purple as she is more primal. I think its a difference I will continue to do as I paint more.

I have also been trialling a wet palette of late, and I think it has helped my blending as the paint is damp for longer and I can more easily pick up the shade that I am after straight off the palette.

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight

Leave a Reply

