Siege Animantarax

I’ve been a bit distracted on the painting front of late. After finally painting up my Cataphract Cetrati and not wanting to paint the Tyrant Commander straight away, I looked at the primed Siege Animantarax and thought “why not?”. Turns out, this model would require more than a little effort. After approx 20+ hours this is what I have so far …

Siege Animantarax
WiP Siege Animantarax

To put it in perspective, Karchev the Terrible and Behemoth each took around 20 hours to complete. Konquest took slightly less. The Animantarax has blown all other models out of the water. I simply lost track of how long I spent on it AND I STILL HAVE FOUR CREW YET TO PAINT! Not to say it is a frustrating model, it just has quite a bit of detail that I never fully appreciated until I went to paint it.

I’m am ecstatic about the whites. I tried a different approach using only Cryx Bane Highlight (CBH), Menoth White Highlight (MWH) and White, and I feel I’m really starting to get the hang of “my way” of blending. I based with MWH, then added the darkest shades with CBH. I then used progressive mixes of CMH and MWH (which produce a greyish colour when mixed) to merge the shades with the base colour. After that, I used thin layers of WMH to smooth the transitions and then hit it with the White to bring the colour back up to white.

Since tweeting this image, I’ve gained 5 new followers after being re-tweeted. I think that says a lot for how my abilities have improved over the last 3-4 years.

Siege Animantarax

Leave a Reply

