Journeyman League – Conclusion

Last night was the final night of the League itself (there is a tournament on this coming weekend) and I wanted to reflect on my goals and how I felt the experience went.

If memory serves, I had 6 wins and 6 losses, playing 2 games each week. Not quite what I was aiming for, but new faction and crazy lists will do that for you. Re-reading my original post, my lists deviated greatly, predominantly due to falling in love with running Shredders, Shredders and more Shredders (it’s hard to shake the love for a Magic White Weenie Rush deck). In the final week (and what I’ll likely run for the tournament) I ran Thagrosh, the Messiah, 12 Shredders, Typhon and a Deathstalker.

How did the painting go? Well, I fell a Scythean and a Stinger short of my goal. Considering what I did paint, and that I played each week fully painted, I’m quite happy with the level of effort, quality and speed that I achieved for my models. Will they win any awards? Probably not. Were they a blast to paint? Yes.

Here is what I managed to paint over the 6 weeks.

Warcasters

  • Lylyth, Herald of Everblight
  • Lylyth, Shadow of Everblight
  • Thagrosh, the Messiah

Warbeasts

  • Typhon
  • Carnivean
  • Ravagore
  • Seraph
  • 12 Shredders

Units

  • Blighted Nyss Striders + Unit Attachment

Solos

  • 3x Spell Martyr
  • Strider Deathstalker
  • Annyssa Ryvaal

There are still a couple of days left that I can paint for, but I’m actually going to take a couple of days off to instead focus on finishing my display boards for the models I have, fulfilling an implicit goal that I had for this League. Besides, I have more Legion coming and I don’t want to burn out again until they are done. You never know, I may actually have my first ever fully painted faction.

Highlights

By far the biggest highlight (glee factor) was running 12 Shredders under Thagrosh’s feat turn. There is a distinctive pleasure to be found in having little dudes nomnomnom their way through a “tar pit” unit at the front of the army. Feat, then nomnomnom into the sweet, chewy centre of the army. A lot of people did not see it coming, or if they did, they never saw it happening that easily. Sure, the blighters (see what I did there?) then turn and eat each other, but the damage is usually done.

A nice side effect, for me, was that having all the Shredders do most of the lifting, I was not over-committing my heavies like I usually do. In later matches, Carnivean and Typhon where often doing nothing at all until the final turns. Before playing the list I’d read somewhere that you don’t treat them as war beasts, but instead treat them as 2pt solos, and that worked. In one game I ran them so hot that I ran out of Fury tokens and had to borrow some from my opponent.

Thoughts on the Journeyman League

I liked the League format, with steady progression. At only 2 games per night though, I would have liked to have spent more nights at smaller points to get a better feel for the faction. A lot of that way my fault, with many a game being close to 2 hours, even at 15pts. But I did notice that my turns were getting faster, and I now have a solid idea of what to do with all those Shredders on turn one, what spells to cast and how to position them.

It was also good to see so many new players show up regularly. The real test will be in seeing how many show up next week, now that the league is after. What I do like though, is that an eternal lurker actually bought a battle box and will begin playing. I’ve even tee’d up some demo matches next Tuesday with him.

I promise, I’ll post photos of  my army this weekend.

Journeyman League – Conclusion

Leave a Reply

