Journeyman – Update

Let’s just revisit my previous post and see how well I’m doing.

My goals are:

  • To be fully painted for each week of the league.
  • To win more than I lose.
  • To win a painting award, if there is one

I’m not looking to win the Hobby Points award, as I do not have the money at the moment to sink into models.

“To be fully painted” … check.

“To win more than I lose” … um …

“I do not have the money …” … um …

So what happened? I got addicted to the idea of playing a Thagrosh the Messiah “popcorn” army.
On the positive side, I am fully painted now beyond Week 6 with the following having been completed:

  • Lylyth, Herald of Everblight
  • 12 x Shredder
  • Carnivean
  • Thagrosh the Messiah
  • Blighted Nyss Striders + UA
  • Deathstalker
  • Stinger
  • Annyssa Ryvaal, Talon of Everblight

That leaves me Typhon, Seraph, Ravagore and Scythean (and Lylyth, Shadow of Everblight) to paint in the remaining two weeks.
Fortunately (for my sanity), Vayl, Deathstalker and the Raptors I’ve ordered won’t arrive until AFTER the end of the Journeyman. *phew*

I’ve been really happy with the scheme, as I’ve deliberately limited my palette in order to achieve a measure of “speed” painting efficiencies. I’ve gone with a very muted, “icy” theme all based on Frostbite. Here is the breakdown:

Skin

  • Shade of 4 Frostbite : 1 Exile Blue 1 : Skorne Red (taken from the Legion faction book)
  • Midtone of 6 Frostbite : 1 Exile Blue 1 : Skorne Red (approximately)
  • Highlight of Frostbite + White

Cloaks / Cloth

  • Basecoat of Frostbite
  • Shading #1 of Frostbite + Underbelly Blue
  • Shading #2 of Frostbite + Underbelly Blue + Trollblood Base
  • Highlight of Frostbite + White

Chitin / Leather

  • Basecoat of Ironhull Grey
  • Shading of Ironhull Grey + Black (or a straight black wash)
  • Highlight of Ironhull Grey + White

Metals

  • Basecoat of Leadbelcher (GW)
  • Wash of P3 Armour Ink
  • Highlights are Mithril Silver (GW)

Teeth / Bones

  • Basecoat of ‘Jack Bone
  • Wash of Devlun Mud
  • Hightlights of layers of thinned ‘Jack Bone

And because all that painting was not enough, I have also been building modular display boards that match the basing (icy ruins).

I’ll upload some photos at the end of the Journeyman, when I have more time to take decent shots.

Journeyman – Update

Leave a Reply

