Results from James-Con

I’m now back from James-Con 2011 and boy what an exhausting, but fun day. I went 0-4 in the end, losing three games to caster kill, and one on scenario – and I somehow managed to get a control point somewhere in there too.

But first, a summary of each round.

Round #1

Scenario Incursion
Opponent Kaya the Moonhunter

Opponent’s List
Kaya the Moonhunter
– Laris
– Feral Warpwolf
– Warpwolf Stalker
– Gnarlhorn Satyr
– Shadowhorn Satyr
– Gorax
– Druid Wilder
Warpborn Skinwalkers
Shifting Stones + Stone Keeper
Druids of Orboros + Overseer

Comments
This was a simply brutal way to start a tournament. Going second, I moved – took pot shots at the druids, then subsequently died due to receiving a Feral Warpwolf to a knocked down Karchev. Over the rest of the afternoon I was, on two separate occasions, referred to as “that guy”. I didn’t learn a lot from this round, as it was over so quickly.

Round #2

Scenario Process of Elimination
Opponent Major Markus “Siege” Brisbane

Opponent’s List
Major Markus “Siege” Brisbane
– Sentinel
– Iron Clad
– Defender
– Squire
Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator
Trenchers
Captain Maxwell Finn
Arcane Tempest Gun Mages
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team
Arcane Tempest Gun Mage Officer
Gun Mage Captain Adept

Comments
Holy Push Batman! This list had the most amount of pushing that I have ever see, outside of Adeptis Rahn! I had Kodiak’s flying backwards at a rate of knots, Berserkers frothing at the bit to get back into melee and Karchev plodding up the field. I’d heard nasty things about Siege assassination attempts, so I think I played too defensively, waiting for the eventual, when I could have been more pro-active and really fling those ‘jacks up there and trust in their armour. A really fun game against an opponent that had a clear idea of how he was going to win.

Round #3

Scenario Diversion
Opponent High Exemplar Kreoss

Opponent’s List
Grand Exemplar Kreoss
– Crusader
– Guardian
– Revenger
Avatar of Menoth
Covenant of Menoth
Choir of Menoth
Exemplar Errants + Officer
Exemplar Bastions

Comments
This was a really fun match, once I got my head around the scenario. It was against a new player, and he was a ball to play against. I found out how hard it is to kill Bastions, i.e. HARD! Best moment was running the War Dog over to my flag, then running an armless Kodiak into the zone to score a control point! Low point, realising that Torch was on the wrong side of the battle and watching Karchev get surrounded by three warjacks.

Round #4

Scenario Overrun
Opponent Lylyth, Herald of Everblight

Opponent’s List
Lylyth, Herald of Everblight
– Carnivean
– Ravagore
– Typhon
– Shredder
– Stinger
Blighted Nyss Striders
Hex Hunters + Bayal, Hound of Everblight
Shepherd
Annyssa Ryvaal, Talon of Everblight

Comments
Again, another enjoyable match. Given the long, long, long control area, and the lateness of the hour – I tried something zany and lined up the entire battleground to begin a walk down the control zone from right to left. The idea being to just plod along killing it all as I went, leaving me with the only models in the zone. It kinda worked … kinda. The best moment was Torch proving how awesome he is (he’s like Nathan Fillion in ‘jack form) killing Typhon and taking the Ravagore to 3 boxes left. If only the Destroyer had had an extra 0.25″ of movement! “Embarrassing Moment for the Motherland”, Karchev getting up there to mix it up and falling to a Stinger! Still, after being swatted by Legion heavy beasts beforehand, you can sort of forgive him, though I expect the Empress will not!

Closing Remarks

This was the first time that I had run a 50pt list – and I knew it was going to be tough to get any wins while playing ‘jack heavy. Still, I had a ball and it really showed me the power of scenarios for games – having access to slams, throws, and pushes can really make the difference. I also really, really, really need a somewhat faster moving infantry unit to be able to contest zones.

I didn’t win, but my army was one of two judges “best painted”, so I came out of it with a voucher, and subsequently the Skorne Warpack. I now know that I am capable of running 50pts, and with some practice and changes in lists, I reckon I’ll be able to be more competitive in the future.

Thanks to Good Games (Canberra) for hosting, and to James for being TO and running a really smooth day.

Results from James-Con

Leave a Reply

